Skip to content

Three Things That Improve With Time: Teachers, Chicago and Earth, Wind and Fire

September 2, 2011

TO NEW BEGINNINGS FOR THOSE DISPLACED TEACHERS WHO HAVE FOUND HOMES AND FOR THOSE OF US MAKING NEW STARTS AT NEW SCHOOLS : MAY THEY BECOME LIKE HOME.  Fremont, I’m only a mile a way.

I grew up on a steady diet of Chicago, Led Zeppelin, Styxx and Earth, Wind and Fire. Their songs seemed to have something transcedent to say and Earth, Wind and Fire was the favorite band at our high school. I think “Reasons” was the absolute favorite song of most of us.

And for those of you who like the old days too:

“Searchin”So Long”  1974 or so…..

And some really old stuff when they were Chicago Transit Authority – 1968- the music reflects the times- two assassinations, riots at the Democratic Convention and more. As one of my teachers said, it felt like the country was going to come apart at the seams.  Here’s I’m a Man

6 Comments leave one →
  1. M. Thibeault permalink
    September 3, 2011 8:12 pm

    Good Luck at your new school, Barbara. You’re getting closer to where you left your heart and this is a good thing.
    Best wishes,
    Mickey

  2. September 3, 2011 9:02 pm

    Thanks, I have to believe its not an accident that I got that phone call out of the blue. It’s actually been a pleasure to plan my lessons. I feel it all coming together after a lost year.

    Good luck to you as well I’m sure you’ll be missing Gavin as principal but you have your colleagues from the Mont and that is a great thing

  3. A Teacher Who Did Not Reapply At Fremont permalink
    September 6, 2011 12:20 pm

    Barbara,

    What school are you moving to?

    Congrats on keeping your spirit high despite the mess the District has put you through.

  4. September 6, 2011 5:48 pm

    I’m going to YOU continuation- today was the pupil free day – it is an interesting schedule- I only teach two academic classes a day and co -teach a leadership class. I do have to teach both World History A and B and US History A and B at the same time so I am trying to figure that out. I’m really happy to be there- I liked the people at my last school but I am thrilled to be back in South LA – I hope to be there for the duration of my career!

  5. A Teacher Who Did Not Reapply At Fremont permalink
    September 6, 2011 9:12 pm

    Excellent! I’m glad the move is working out for you.

    District 7 continued to mess with me after I chose not to reapply at Fremont. I was put in one of the worst schools I have ever encountered, but I stuck out the year there. At the end of the school year, I went on an interview at a different school and the principal wanted to hire me on the spot. And then District 7 tried to ruin that job offer. The higher-ups said I could not leave my present position at the “School From Hell” until I found someone who would take my position there. I couldn’t believe it. Before I could leave for my new job, I had to find a teacher who would replace me!

    • September 6, 2011 9:22 pm

      That’s insane…with all of those displaced teachers out there? I think they approved mine because I was coming in from another local district- but still I held my breath till I got that letter in the mail. I was surprised they didn’t try to mess with me.

      Did you find a teacher to replace you? I mean, is that even in your job description? Isn’t that HR’s job? I hope you went to the union. I hope you are at the new school you wanted to go to.

Leave a Reply

