Skip to content

y = Xß + Zv + e where ß is a p-by-1 vector of fixed effects; X is an n-by-p matrix; v is a q-by-1 vector of random effects; Z is an n-by-q matrix; E(v) = 0, Var(v) = G; E(e) = 0, Var(e) = R; Cov(v,e) = 0. V = Var(y) = Var(y – Xß) = Var(Zv + e) = ZGZT + R= What the hell, LAUSD

March 29, 2011

So that “value added”  formula that looks like something  Einstein created is what is supposed to determine if I am an “effective” teacher.  After all the teacher training, the student teaching, the inspirational speeches by teachers who were educated in the golden years of the 50’s through the 70’s and who told me that “Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire,” well I guess I am glad that many of them have passed away, especially Mr. Jim Cross from Los Alamitos High School, who was one of my instructors in my credential program at CSULB.  I can’t imagine  him or any of them giving in to such complete bullshit.  Because now, education IS the filling of a pail, devoid of any passion or critical thinking.  How do I know this?

I was forced today to attend the most excruciatingly boring SDAIE PD meetings that is mandated by the district.  If it were not for Mr. De France’s jokes (he’s the social studies teachers on the continuation side) I would have fallen asleep. As it were, I left 30 minutes early, something that I am sure will be noted in the next staff meeting.   What happened, I was thinking, to those great coaches LAUSD used to hire like Mark Elinson, who perfectly balanced theory with practice and who gave students a REASON to learn social studies.

At least there was some good news today. Apparently Judge Sumi didn’t appreciate the end run around her blocking of  Wisconsin’s onerous anti-union law so just for the record, and because Scott Walker is behaving like a dictator, she reminded him again:  This law is BLOCKED.  There will be no further implementation of this law until the Supreme Court of Wisconsin rules on it. In the meantime, I hope Walker is getting his war chest ready. He’ll need it for the recall election.  Bastard.

Some great news just in!  Warren Fletcher is our new UTLA President!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

